Daily Archives: July 12, 2009

Book nerd heaven: why I love my iPhone

Standard

We’re all friends here, so I can safely admit to you all why I got an iPhone without being ostracized for being a sheep. Aside from the fact that I was sick of never having any credit with my pre-paid account, I was extremely tempted to get an iPhone because of some of its features. When they first came out I had a very “meh” attitude towards it. But all of sudden, over the last fortnight or so, I was overwhelmed with a strong urge to get one. Why? Why the sudden change of heart?
Well, I figured it out. It was temptation of the possibility of having hundreds of books with me in my pocket at all times that did it. Yep, that’s right. I’m a MAJOR book nerd (in case you hadn’t figured that out already). And last night I made the best purchase of perhaps my entire life, and I bought an application that consisted of 165 old classic books for a measly $6. That’s right. $6.
Among this loooong list was a bunch of classics that I’d always wanted to read, but never got around to buying: Moby Dick, The Republic, Little Women, Wuthering Heights, A Tale of Two Cities, Homer’s The Iliad and The Odyssey, and many of Edgar Allen Poe’s works. As well as these “must reads”, there are heaps of childhood favourites: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, Through the Looking Glass, The Secret Garden, White Fang, Jungle Book, Anne of Green Gables and Gulliver’s Travels to name a few.
I was so excited that I stayed up until 2am this morning reading through the many titles, reading bits of the first pages, and generally just being rapt that I will not be lacking in something to read for a long, long time.
If you’re interested, the application is 150 Great Books and it is well worth the small change needed to buy.